Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for March 28th, 2008

Test Maneuvers

I’m just testing something here…don’t mind me…Come back and visit, though!  I don’t generally give the appearance of craziness.

Read Full Post »

Showers

April showers bring May flowers.  In this case, an April shower will bring a May wedding.

My dear friend Kris and I spent a couple of hours on Wednesday discussing plans for a bridal shower we’re giving for the daughter of a mutual friend.  It’s fun to think about how it will look, how it will feel, and how it will taste!

I used to think bridal showers (or baby showers, for that matter–maybe we’ll be hosting one of those in a few years!) were mainly about gifts.  But, the more I’ve attended them and the more I’ve even hosted a few, I’ve decided that’s not it at all–or at least not in the case of the best ones. 

Showers are about relationships.

The guest list for this particular shower is from the “friends”, as opposed to the “family”, list.  These people are a circle of family friends, mainly from the bride’s church, as well as some from work–those two circles will intertwine at this party.  Also included are the mothers of the bridesmaids–the friend circle ripples between generations.  Then there is the new circle of friends, as immediate family (mothers/siblings of the bridal pair) are included and their closest friends are on the guest list–so the ripples intertwine as two separate pebbles are plunked into the pond of life.  Kris and I are hosting this shower because our families have grown up together as we have shared the common life threads of homeschooling and of faith. 

I love being part of this weaving of a new piece of cloth. 

Question of the Day:  What ingredient should be part of every bridal shower? (Men, feel free to sit this one out.) 

Read Full Post »